NYC - Le guide officiel

Arriver ici

En avion

Ci-dessous, vous trouverez une liste des aéroports à proximité, ainsi que les meilleurs moyens d’obtenir de ces aéroports à Manhattan. Il n’y a presque 90 transporteurs aériens voyageant dans la région de New York City de partout dans le pays et dans le monde.

Les voyageurs qui viennent à New York en avion peuvent atterrir à John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) ou à LaGuardia Airport (LGA) qui sont tous deux situés dans le Queens, ou à Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) dans l'État voisin du New Jersey. LaGuardia dessert principalement les destinations intérieures et propose également des vols pour sélectionner les destinations canadiennes. Les aéroports John-F. Kennedy et Newark desservent à la fois des destinations nationales et internationales. Visiteurs peuvent atteindre Manhattan de tous les trois aéroports à l’aide de taxis, bus et métros et trains de banlieue. D’autres aéroports sont également situés dans la région métropolitaine, notamment l’aéroport Stewart International (SWF), l’aéroport du comté de Westchester (HPN) ainsi que l’aéroport Macarthur (ISP). Pour ceux qui s’intéressent, il y a un certain nombre de Hôtels Idéalement situé à proximité des aéroports de la ville.

John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) 
Jamaica, Queens, NY 11430
718-244-4444
Les plus grand aéroport de New York dessert plus de 70 compagnies aériennes, dont la plupart est internationale. Il se trouve à environ 15 miles (24 kilomètres) de Midtown Manhattan. Voici comment vous rendre à Midtown Manhattan de l’aéroport JFK :
• Taxi : tarif forfaitaire de $52 (non dosé), ainsi qu’un état MTA de 50 cents en supplément, un supplément de 30 cents amélioration, un supplément d’heures de pointe de 4,50 $ (4 à 20 h lundi au vendredi sauf fériés), ponts et tunnels de péages et pourboire. Il est de 30 à 60 Minutes à Midtown Manhattan, selon les conditions de trafic et des routes ; destinations autres que Manhattan sont équipés de compteurs. Pour plus d’informations, composez le 311 dans NYC ou visitez le Site Web de taxi & Limousine Commission.
• AirTrain JFK: 5 $ (enfant moins de 5 ans est gratuits) ; AirTrain relie l’aéroport au métro et Long Island Rail Road. L'AirTrain offre également un service gratuit entre différents lieux au sein de l'aéroport.
• Métro : Une Ride 2,75 $ (en sus des tarifs AirTrain) provient de l’A arrêt de métro à la station Howard Beach/JFK ou l’arrêt de métro E, J ou Z à la station de Sutphin Blvd. / Archer avenue/JFK ; 40 à 60 Minutes à Midtown Manhattan.
• Long Island Rail Road (LIRR): 7,50 $– 10,25 $ (moins de 5 ans les enfants voyagent gratuitement ; tarif famille est 1 $ chacun pour jusqu'à quatre enfants 5-11 ans par adulte pour creuses et pm pointe trains ; tarif enfant est de 50 % sur le plein tarif pour suis trains de pointe), en fonction de l’heure du jour (en plus des tarifs AirTrain) , pour le trajet entre du LIRR Jamaica Station et Penn Station ; le samedi et le dimanche, le tarif de CityTicket est de 4,25 $. Le voyage est à 20 Minutes à Midtown Manhattan (sans compter le trajet AirTrain).
• Autobus urbain : pour plus de détails, visitez TripPlanner.MTA.info.
• Services de navettes : NYC Airporter, Go Airlink NYC et SuperShuttle.
• Service de voiture privée : trouver une poignée sur ce liste des fournisseurs
• Location voiture : à l’aéroport JFK, les entreprises sont Avis, Budget, DollarEnterpriseHertz et National.

LaGuardia Airport (LGA) 
East Elmhurst, Queens, NY 11371
718-533-3400
Il s’agit du deuxième aéroport de New York avec neuf compagnies aériennes desservant principalement destinations intérieures, mais aussi Canada, de quatre terminaux de passagers. LaGuardia est sur la rive nord du Queens, dans l’East River (environ 8 milles de Midtown Manhattan). Voici comment vous rendre à Midtown Manhattan de LaGuardia :
• Taxi : Environ 29 $-37 $ inhalateurs billet d’avion, plus un supplément état MTA de 50 cent, le plus un supplément de 30 cents amélioration, plus un supplément de 1 $ (4 à 20 h lundi au vendredi sauf fériés) ou un quotidien (supplément de 50 cent20 h À 6 h), ainsi que des péages ponts et tunnels et gratifications ; 20 à 40 Minutes à Midtown Manhattan. Pour plus d’informations, composez le 311 dans NYC ou visitez le Site Web de taxi & Limousine Commission.
• Autobus urbain : deux bus express desservent LaGuardia : la M60 et Q70. Le Q70 va sans escale à Roosevelt Avenue/Jackson Heights et 74e St./Broadway, un hub majeur de métro dans le Queens avec cinq lignes. Le M60 passe à Harlem et relie toutes les lignes principales de métro à Manhattan. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations, consultez le site tripplanner.mta.info.
• Navette : NYC AirporterAller Airlink NYC et SuperShuttle.
• Service de voiture privée : trouver une poignée sur ce liste des fournisseurs.  
• Location voiture : entreprises à LGA AvisBudget, DollarEnterpriseHertz et National.

Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) 
3 Brewster RD.
Newark, NJ 07114
973-961-6000
Aéroport de Newark, avec plus de 30 compagnies aériennes (dont beaucoup sont internationaux), est dans l’ensemble du fleuve Hudson (et puis certains) de New York City, à environ 16 milles de Midtown Manhattan. Voici comment arriver à Midtown Manhattan depuis Newark Liberty :
• Taxi : Environ 50 $ à 75 $ inhalateurs billet d’avion, plus de péages aller-retour de ponts et tunnels et de gratification (tarifs de groupe Ride, selon nombre de passagers et l’emplacement de débarquement à Manhattan, sont environ 18 $-26 $ par personne) ; 45 à 60 Minutes à Midtown Manhattan. Au cours de la semaine heures de pointe (6 h9 h et 16 h19 h) et le week-end (samedi-dimanche midi-20 h), il y a un supplément de 5 $ pour un voyage n’importe où dans l’état de New York sauf Staten Island. Il y a un supplément de 5,50 $ pour toutes les transactions par carte de crédit ainsi qu’une redevance pour chaque pièce de bagages qui est de plus de 24 pouces, mais il y a un rabais de 10 pour cent personnes âgées (pour les 62 ans et plus). Pour se rendre à l'aéroport depuis Midtown Manhattan, il faut prendre les taxis jaunes réglementés de New York City. Environ 69 $ à 75 $ inhalateurs tarif, plus un supplément de Newark 17,50 $, plus un supplément de 30 cents amélioration, plus pont aller-retour et péages du tunnel et pourboire.
• AirTrain Newark: Coûts varient selon la destination, mais il est de 5,50 $ pour l’AirTrain et 13 $ pour le tarif de NJ Transit vers ou depuis la gare de Penn Station à Manhattan ; le tarif pour les militaires, personnes âgées, handicapées passagers et les enfants âgés 5 – 11 est $9 (tous les autres voyages par l’intermédiaire de NJ Transit est autrement moitié au tarif régulier) ; jusqu'à trois enfants de 4 et plus jeune Ride NJ Transit gratuite avec un passager payant. Le week-end (à partir du 19 h le vendredi et se terminant à 6 h le lundi) et les jours fériés (commençant généralement à 19 h la veille d’une fête et se terminant à 6 h le lendemain), au maximum deux enfants ages de 5 – 11 Ride NJ Transit gratuite avec un passager payant. Gare de AirTrain liens vers l’aéroport via la NJ Transit et Newark Liberty International Airport d’Amtrak ; environ 45 à 60 Minutes à Midtown Manhattan, nécessitant un transfert de la ligne AirTrain pour la NJ Transit ligne (Veillez à conserver votre billet après l’avoir utilisé pour sortir de la station AirTrain, tel qu’il est également utilisé pour le tarif de NJ Transit) ou Amtrak. AirTrain offre un service gratuit entre des points situés dans l’aéroport transferts complexes, y compris d’autres terminaux de transport aérien et les lieux des navettes d’hôtel, location de voiture et un parking.
• Navette : Aller Airlink NYCNewark Airport Express et SuperShuttle.
• Service privé de voiture et limousine : trouver une poignée sur ce liste des fournisseurs.  
• Location voiture : entreprises à Newark comprennent AvisBudgetDollarHertz et National.

Aéroport Stewart International (SWF)
1180 1er St.
New Windsor, NY 12553
845-838-8200
Stewart International Airport est à environ 60 milles au nord de la ville de New York. Voici comment se rendre à Midtown Manhattan de Stewart :
• Bus : 20 $ pour les adultes et 10 $ pour les enfants ages de 5 à 11 sur USA du Coach Stewart Airport Express, qui sont particulièrement tournée vers les voyageurs atterrissant par voie aérienne norvégienne ; environ 90 minutes à Port Authority Bus Terminal à Midtown Manhattan
• Train/bus : Lignes de lutin exécute une navette de 1 $ sur sa ligne de banlieue de Newburgh-Beacon-Stewart lundi au vendredi (sauf jours fériés) s’arrête à la balise de la gare. Là, utilisez Metro-North Railroad pour un service direct à Grand Central Terminal (22 $ pour peak, 16,75 $ pour les heures creuses) ; le tarif pour les personnes âgées et des personnes handicapées est de 11 $; sauf le matin les trains de pointe à Grand Central, le tarif pour jusqu'à quatre enfants de 5 à 11 ans est de 1 $ chacun, accompagné d’un adulte payant, sinon le tarif pour les enfants de 5 à 11 ans est maximale de 11 $ et $8,50 creuses ; enfants 4 et moins Ride Metro-North pour libre) ; environ 120 Minutes à Midtown Manhattan.

En train

Ville de New York a deux gares principales à Midtown Manhattan : Grand Central Terminal (côté est) et Penn Station (côté ouest). Il n’y a accès à de nombreux métro et bus lignes de chaque station. Grand Central est abrite Metro-North Railroad, qui va jusqu’aux banlieues de NYC à New York et du Connecticut. Penn Station est abrite ce qui suit : Long Island Rail Road, un chemin de fer de banlieue desservant l’île longue et parties de Queens et de Brooklyn ; Amtrak, le chemin de fer de passager national américain, afin de desservir plusieurs partout aux États-Unis et au Canada ; et NJ Transit, un chemin de fer de banlieue desservant New Jersey et parties de Pennsylvanie.

Gares ferroviaires :

Grand Central Terminal
89 E. 42nd St. (entre Vanderbilt et parc aves.)
212-340-2583
Grand Central est la principale gare des trains Metro-North Railroad. lignes de métro ici incluent les 4, 5, 6, 7 et S (navette entre Grand Central et Times Square). Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les bus MTA, consultez le site tripplanner.mta.info.

En plus d’être une plaque tournante de transport en commun, Grand Central est également un point de repère et un attraction à part entière. Le hall principal de 8 200 mètres carrés qui est baigné de lumière naturelle lorsqu'il fait beau grâce à ses immenses fenêtres voutées. Plafond de 12 étages de haut de Grand Central est peint avec les étoiles et les constellations du zodiaque dorés. Non seulement Grand Central est peut-être la plus belle gare du globe, le terminal de 49 hectares est également un des plus grands du monde. Il existe de nombreuses boutiques de toutes les variétés ici, y compris un Apple Store, M.A.C Cosmetics et Tumi. Vanderbilt Hall est titulaire d’un hall de produits alimentaires danois ; le niveau inférieur est le restaurant Bar à huîtres ainsi qu’un hall salle à manger à l’étage inférieur qui dispose d’un large choix de restaurants ; et dans le Grand marché Central, des aliments frais et préparés, y compris les viandes, fromages, produits cuits au four et thés gourmet — sont disponibles.

Penn Station
Septième au huitième Avenues (bet. W. 31 et W. 33e m.)
Penn Station est la gare principale du Long Island Rail Road et est également l'une des gares des réseaux Amtrak et NJ Transit. lignes de métro ici incluent les 1, 2, 3, A, C et E. Pour plus de détails bus MTA, visitez TripPlanner.MTA.info.

Penn Station dispose de stands d’information, des restaurants, des salles d’attente et des toilettes publiques pour accueillir plus de 600 000 passagers qui passent par le terminal de chaque jour. En 2017, le nouveau hall de West End ouvert ; Il donne accès supplémentaire à la station de Eighth Avenue. Bureaux de location de voiture et points de départ ou d’arrivée pour les compagnies de bus sont à proximité. Le Pennsy Food Hall se trouve au-dessus de la station, comme le fait le sport et musique, lieu de rendez-vous Madison Square Garden.

Compagnies ferroviaires

Amtrak
800-872-7245, 212-630-6400
Amtrak est la compagnie ferroviaire nationale américaine dédiée au transport des passagers. Penn Station de la ville de New York est sa station plus achalandée au pays — en 2017, Amtrak a rapporté presque 10,4 millions arraisonnements et alightings là. La société propose de nombreux forfaits et offres, y compris les opportunités de visites des résidents des États-Unis et des visiteurs internationaux pour faire des arrêts multiples dans tout le pays.

Long Island Rail Road (LIRR)
718-217-5477, 511
Ce chemin de fer de banlieue, les plus fréquenté aux Etats-Unis, opère à partir de Penn Station et dessert 124 stations sur 11 succursales sur près de 600 milles de voie ferrée dans le comté de Nassau, le comté de Suffolk, Queens, Brooklyn et Manhattan, transportant environ 90 millions de clients chaque année. Les destinations incluent Citi Field (via la gare de Mets – Willets Point), hippodrome de Belmont Park et destinations populaires de Long Island comme les Hamptons et Montauk.

Metro-North Railroad
212-532-4900, 877-690-5114, 511
Metro-North opère à partir de Grand Central Terminal. Partie de ses racines remontent à 1832, avec une ligne de trolley dans le Lower Manhattan sous le nom New York et de Harlem Railroad. Aujourd'hui, avec 787 milles de voies, Metro-North va à 123 stations [dans les sept comtés de l’état de New York — Dutchess, Putnam, Westchester, Rockland, Orange, Bronx et New York (Manhattan) — et nouveaux comtés Haven et Fairfield Connecticut] et sert plus de 86 millions clients par an.

NJ Transit
973-275-5555, TTY 800-772-2287
Ce chemin de fer de banlieue dispose de 12 lignes avec service dans une grande partie du New Jersey (Atlantic City et la côte du New Jersey sont des destinations populaires) et même à New York (comtés de Rockland et Orange) en partenariat avec la Metro-North Railroad — et, bien sûr, dans et hors de New York City par Penn Station et sert plus de 88 millions de clients chaque année.

PATH (Port Authority Trans Hudson) 
800-234-7284
Chemin d’accès fournit le transport en commun rapide entre plusieurs arrêts dans la ville de New York, ainsi que des emplacements à Newark, Harrison, Jersey City et Hoboken dans le New Jersey. Voyageurs aériens de l’aéroport de Newark Liberty International peuvent se connecter sur le chemin d’accès via l’AirTrain Newark à Newark Liberty International Airport Station et en prenant un NJ Transit ou Amtrak train de là à Newark Penn Station (pas identique à la gare de Penn de Manhattan). À Newark Penn Station, ils peuvent attraper un train de chemin d’accès qui va directement à Lower Manhattan, mais c’est en semaine uniquement ; la station World Trade Center sera fermée pour travaux de réparation sur week-end — de 0 h 01 Samedis à travers 5 h les lundis, à l’exception des grandes vacances, grâce à décembre 2020. Service de voie de finira par ailleurs à la gare de lieu d’échange, et les clients touchés peuvent prendre le ferry de NY Waterway de Harborside Ferry Landing à Jersey City à Brookfield Place/Battery Park City Terminal à Manhattan gratuite de 7 h À 23 h 30 les samedis et dimanches. Service supplémentaire sera fourni sur la place du Journal pour la ligne 33 rd Street lorsque le traversier ne fonctionne pas. Pour le service à Midtown Manhattan, ils doivent monter dans le train PATH et transférer à un autre au Journal Square. 33 rd Street station du chemin (Sixth Avenue, dans Herald Square) à Manhattan est une avenue de trains d’Amtrak, Long Island Rail Road et NJ Transit à Penn Station.

En autocar

Il existe plusieurs lignes d'autocars pratiques et économiques pour se rendre à New York City depuis les quatre coins des États-Unis et certaines régions du Canada. Parmi celles-ci, on peut notamment citer BoltBus, Megabus et Greyhound.

En voiture

Utilisez Google Maps pour connaître les itinéraires routiers en direction de New York City. En outre, assurez-vous que vous savez où se garer : vous pouvez utiliser une application comme SpotHero pour trouver et comparer les places de parking et les lieux et faire des réservations.


Publicité
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

NYC - The Official Guide

Getting Here

By Plane

Below, you’ll find a list of nearby airports, along with the best ways to get from those airports to Manhattan. There are nearly 90 air carriers traveling to the New York City area from all over the country and the world.

Air travelers to New York City may arrive at John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) or LaGuardia Airport (LGA), both in Queens, or Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) in neighboring New Jersey. LaGuardia primarily serves domestic destinations, and also offers flights to select Canadian destinations. Kennedy and Newark both serve domestic and international destinations. Visitors can reach Manhattan from all three airports by using taxis, buses and subways and/or commuter trains. Other metropolitan-area airports include Stewart International Airport (SWF)Westchester County Airport (HPN) and MacArthur Airport (ISP). For those interested, there are a number of hotels conveniently located near the City’s airports.

John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) 
Jamaica, Queens, NY 11430
718-244-4444
New York’s largest airport serves more than 70 airlines, most of which are international. It is approximately 15 miles from Midtown Manhattan. Here’s how to get to Midtown Manhattan from JFK:
• Taxi: $52 flat fare (non-metered), plus a 50-cent MTA state surcharge, a 30-cent improvement surcharge, a $4.50 rush-hour surcharge (4 to 8pm weekdays except legal holidays), bridge and tunnel tolls, and gratuity. It’s 30 to 60 minutes to Midtown Manhattan, depending on traffic and road conditions; destinations other than Manhattan are metered. For more information, dial 311 in NYC or visit the Taxi & Limousine Commission website.
• AirTrain JFK: $5 (children under 5 are free); AirTrain links the airport to the subway and Long Island Rail Road. AirTrain also offers free service between points in the airport.
• Subway: One ride is $2.75 (in addition to AirTrain fare) from the A subway stop at the Howard Beach/JFK station or the E, J or Z subway stop at the Sutphin Blvd./Archer Ave./JFK station; 40 to 60 minutes to Midtown Manhattan.
• Long Island Rail Road (LIRR): $7.50–$10.25 (children under 5 are free; family fare is $1 apiece for up to four children ages 5–11 per adult for off-peak and pm peak trains; child fare is 50 percent off full fare for am peak trains), depending on the time of day (in addition to AirTrain fare), for the trip between LIRR’s Jamaica Station and Penn Station; on Saturday and Sunday, the CityTicket fare is $4.25. The trip is 20 minutes to Midtown Manhattan (not including the AirTrain ride).
• City bus: For details, visit tripplanner.mta.info.
• Shuttle bus: NYC AirporterGo Airlink NYC and SuperShuttle.
• Private car service: Find a handful on this list of providers
• Car rental: Companies at JFK include Avis, Budget, DollarEnterpriseHertz and National.

LaGuardia Airport (LGA) 
East Elmhurst, Queens, NY 11371
718-533-3400
This is New York’s second-largest airport, with nine airlines serving mostly domestic destinations, as well as Canada, from four passenger terminals. LaGuardia is on the northern shore of Queens, across the East River (about 8 miles from Midtown Manhattan). Here’s how to get to Midtown Manhattan from LaGuardia:
• Taxi: Approximately $29–$37 metered fare, plus a 50-cent MTA state surcharge, plus a 30-cent improvement surcharge, plus a $1 surcharge (4 to 8pm weekdays except legal holidays) or a daily 50-cent surcharge (8pm to 6am), plus bridge and tunnel tolls and gratuity; 20 to 40 minutes to Midtown Manhattan. For more information, dial 311 in NYC or visit the Taxi & Limousine Commission website.
• City bus: Two express buses serve LaGuardia: the M60 and Q70. The Q70 goes nonstop to Roosevelt Avenue/Jackson Heights and 74th St./Broadway, a major subway hub in Queens with five lines. The M60 runs to Harlem and connects to all the major subway lines in Manhattan. For details, visit tripplanner.mta.info.
• Shuttle bus: NYC AirporterGo Airlink NYC and SuperShuttle.
• Private car service: Find a handful on this list of providers.  
• Car rental: Companies at LGA include AvisBudget, DollarEnterpriseHertz and National.

Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) 
3 Brewster Rd.
Newark, NJ 07114
973-961-6000
Newark Airport, with more than 30 airlines (many of which are international), is across the Hudson River (and then some) from New York City—about 16 miles from Midtown Manhattan. Here’s how to get to Midtown Manhattan from Newark Liberty:
• Taxi: Approximately $50 to $75 metered fare, plus round-trip bridge and tunnel tolls and gratuity (group ride rates, depending on number of passengers and drop-off location in Manhattan, are approximately $18–$26 per person); 45 to 60 minutes to Midtown Manhattan. During weekday rush hours (6–9am and 4–7pm) and on weekends (Saturday–Sunday, noon–8pm), there is a $5 surcharge for travel to anywhere in New York State except Staten Island. There’s a $5.50 surcharge for all credit card transactions as well as a charge for each piece of luggage that’s more than 24 inches, but there’s a 10 percent senior citizen discount (for those 62 and older). When traveling to the airport from Midtown Manhattan, service is via New York City’s regulated yellow taxis. Approximately $69 to $75 metered fare, plus a $17.50 Newark surcharge, plus a 30-cent improvement surcharge, plus round-trip bridge and tunnel tolls and gratuity.
• AirTrain Newark: Costs vary by destination, but it’s $5.50 for the AirTrain and $13 for NJ Transit fare to or from Penn Station in Manhattan; the fare for military, senior citizens, disabled passengers and children ages 5–11 is $9 (all other travel via NJ Transit is otherwise half off the regular fare); up to three children 4 and younger ride NJ Transit for free with a fare-paying passenger. On weekends (beginning at 7pm on Friday and ending at 6am on Monday) and holidays (typically beginning at 7pm the day before a holiday and ending at 6am the day after), up to two children ages 5–11 ride NJ Transit for free with a fare-paying passenger. AirTrain links to the airport via NJ Transit and Amtrak’s Newark Liberty International Airport train station; about 45 to 60 minutes to Midtown Manhattan, requiring a transfer from the AirTrain line to the NJ Transit line (be sure to keep your ticket after using it to exit the AirTrain station, as it is also used for the NJ Transit fare) or Amtrak. AirTrain also offers free service between points within the airport complex, including transfers to other airline terminals and locations for hotel shuttles, car rental and parking.
• Shuttle bus: Go Airlink NYCNewark Airport Express and SuperShuttle.
• Private car and limousine service: Find a handful on this list of providers.  
• Car rental: Companies at Newark include AvisBudgetDollarHertz and National.

Stewart International Airport (SWF)
1180 1st St.
New Windsor, NY 12553
845-838-8200
Stewart International Airport is about 60 miles north of New York City. Here’s how to get to Midtown Manhattan from Stewart:
• Bus: $20 for adults and $10 for children ages 5–11 on Coach USA’s Stewart Airport Express, which is especially geared toward those flying via Norwegian Air; approximately 90 minutes to Port Authority Bus Terminal in Midtown Manhattan
• Bus/train: Leprechaun Lines runs a $1 shuttle bus on its Newburgh-Beacon-Stewart commuter line on weekdays (except holidays) that stops at the Beacon train station. There, use Metro-North Railroad for direct service to Grand Central Terminal ($22 for peak, $16.75 for off-peak); the fare for senior citizens and disabled passengers is $11; except on morning peak trains to Grand Central, the fare for up to four children ages 5–11 is $1 each with a fare-paying adult, otherwise the fare for children ages 5–11 is $11 peak and $8.50 off-peak; children 4 and younger ride Metro-North for free); approximately 120 minutes to Midtown Manhattan.

By Train

New York City has two main rail stations in Midtown Manhattan: Grand Central Terminal (on the east side) and Penn Station (on the west side). There is access to numerous subway and bus lines from each station. Grand Central is home to Metro-North Railroad, which goes to NYC suburbs in New York and Connecticut. Penn Station is home to the following: Long Island Rail Road, a commuter railroad serving Long Island and parts of Queens and Brooklyn; Amtrak, the US national passenger railroad, serving many points throughout the United States and Canada; and NJ Transit, a commuter railroad serving New Jersey and parts of Pennsylvania.

Rail Terminals:

Grand Central Terminal
89 E. 42nd St. (between Vanderbilt and Park Aves.)
212-340-2583
Grand Central is the main terminal for Metro-North Railroad services. Subway lines here include the 4, 5, 6, 7 and S (shuttle between Grand Central and Times Square). For MTA bus details, visit tripplanner.mta.info.

Aside from being a transit hub, Grand Central is also a landmark and an attraction unto itself. The Main Concourse boasts an immense 88,000 square feet of space, and on sunny days is bathed in light from its giant arching windows. Grand Central’s 12-story-high ceiling is painted with stars and gilded zodiac constellations. Not only might Grand Central be the globe’s most beautiful train station, the 49-acre terminal is also one of the world’s largest. There are numerous shops of all varieties here, including an Apple Store, M.A.C Cosmetics and Tumi. Vanderbilt Hall holds a Danish food hall; the lower level has the Oyster Bar restaurant plus a dining concourse on the lower level that features a wide selection of eateries; and in Grand Central Market, fresh and prepared foods—including meats, cheese, baked goods and gourmet teas—are available.

Penn Station
Seventh to Eighth Avenues (bet. W. 31st and W. 33rd Sts.)
Penn Station is the main terminal for Long Island Rail Road, and a terminal for Amtrak and NJ Transit. Subway lines here include the 1, 2, 3, A, C and E. For MTA bus details, visit tripplanner.mta.info.

Penn Station features information booths, restaurants, waiting rooms and public restrooms to accommodate the more than 600,000 passengers who pass through the terminal each day. In 2017, the new West End Concourse opened; it provides additional access to the station from Eighth Avenue. Car rental offices and departure/arrival points for bus companies are nearby. The Pennsy Food Hall sits above the station, as does sports and music venue Madison Square Garden.

Rail Services

Amtrak
800-872-7245, 212-630-6400
Amtrak is the national passenger railroad of the United States. New York City’s Penn Station is its busiest station in the nation—in 2017, Amtrak reported nearly 10.4 million boardings and alightings there. The company offers numerous packages and deals, including sightseeing opportunities for both US residents and international visitors to make multiple stops throughout the country.

Long Island Rail Road (LIRR)
718-217-5477, 511
This commuter railroad, the busiest in the United States, operates out of Penn Station and serves 124 stations on 11 branches over nearly 600 miles of track in Nassau County, Suffolk County, Queens, Brooklyn and Manhattan, transporting around 90 million customers each year. Destinations include Citi Field (via the Mets–Willets Point station), Belmont Park racetrack and popular Long Island destinations like the Hamptons and Montauk.

Metro-North Railroad
212-532-4900, 877-690-5114, 511
Metro-North operates out of Grand Central Terminal. Part of its roots date back to 1832, with a horsecar line in Lower Manhattan that operated under the name New York and Harlem Railroad. Today, with 787 miles of track, Metro-North goes to 123 stations [in seven New York State counties—Dutchess, Putnam, Westchester, Rockland, Orange, Bronx and New York (Manhattan)—and Connecticut’s New Haven and Fairfield counties] and serves more than 86 million customers annually.

NJ Transit
973-275-5555, TTY 800-772-2287
This commuter railroad features 12 lines with service throughout much of New Jersey (Atlantic City and the Jersey Shore are popular destinations) and even in New York (Rockland and Orange counties) in partnership with Metro-North Railroad—and, of course, into and out of New York City via Penn Station and serves more than 88 million customers each year.

PATH (Port Authority Trans Hudson) 
800-234-7284
PATH provides rapid transit between several stops in New York City, along with locations in Newark, Harrison, Jersey City and Hoboken in New Jersey. Air travelers from Newark Liberty International Airport can connect to the PATH via AirTrain Newark to Newark Liberty International Airport Station and by taking an NJ Transit or Amtrak train from there to Newark Penn Station (not the same as Manhattan’s Penn Station). At Newark Penn Station, they can catch a PATH train that goes directly to Lower Manhattan, but this is on weekdays only; the World Trade Center station will be closed for repair work on weekends—from 12:01am Saturdays through 5am on Mondays—except for major holidays, through December 2020. PATH service will otherwise end at the Exchange Place station, and affected customers can take the NY Waterway ferry from Harborside Ferry Landing in Jersey City to Brookfield Place/Battery Park City Terminal in Manhattan for free from 7am to 11:30pm on Saturdays and Sundays. Additional service will be provided on the Journal Square to 33rd Street line when the ferry is not in operation. For service to Midtown Manhattan, they must get on the PATH train and transfer to another at Journal Square. The PATH’s 33rd Street station (on Sixth Avenue, in Herald Square) in Manhattan is one avenue from Amtrak, Long Island Rail Road and NJ Transit trains at Penn Station.

By Bus

There are a number of affordable, convenient bus lines that travel to New York City from around the United States and parts of Canada. These include BoltBusMegabus and Greyhound.

By Car

Use Google Maps for driving directions to New York City. Also, make sure you know where to park: you may want to use an app like SpotHero to find and compare parking spots and locations and make reservations.


Advertisement